EARTH SCIENCE WEEK UPDATE: Special Alert!

EARTH SCIENCE WEEK UPDATE: Special Alert!
American Geosciences Institute - May 2016

****************************
Join NGSS Webinar
On Science Standards
****************************
 
AGI, the organizer of Earth Science Week, invites you to participate in an upcoming webinar as part of its work to help strengthen implementation of the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) at the state level.
 
Supporting implementation of the NGSS in Earth and Space Sciences will require partnerships between school districts, state education departments, and two- and four-year colleges and universities. A consortium of Washington State organizations currently is working to improve science learning for all Washington State students by creating a new vision for STEM teacher preparation aligned with NGSS and the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in Mathematics and Language Arts.
 
This webinar will focus on the conditions that support success in building this consortium, the progress thus far, and examples of actions that are going forward through the consortium. Presenter Edward Geary of Western Washington University will lead the webinar, scheduled for May 12, 2016. Start time will be 1pm Pacific, 2pm Mountain, 3pm Central, and 4pm Eastern.
 
The registration deadline is Tuesday, May 10. To register, please go to http://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/workshops/ngss_summit/state_coalition/registration.html .The webinar is limited to 100 participants.  Previous webinars have reached the registration cap, so early registration is recommended. For questions, please contact Susan Sullivan at susan.sullivan@colorado.edu .

****************************
The American Geosciences Institute is a nonprofit federation of geoscientific and professional associations that represents more than 250,000 geologists, geophysicists and other earth scientists. Founded in 1948, AGI provides information services to geoscientists, serves as a voice of shared interests in the profession, plays a major role in strengthening geoscience education, and strives to increase public awareness of the vital role the geosciences play in society's use of resources, resiliency to natural hazards, and interaction with the environment. For contact information, please visit http://www.earthsciweek.org/contact.

To subscribe to this newsletter, visit http://www.earthsciweek.org/newsletter and submit your email address.