2009 Contest Winners

Photography Contest

Michael Badding of East Amherst, New York won first place in this year’s Earth Science Week photo contest with his photo of a chunk of melting ice recovered from a mountainous area (below). 

Submissions illustrated the theme "How Climate Shapes My World". Submissions could include print or digital photographs.

 Finalists (in alphabetical order):


Visual Arts Contest

Taylor Jae Scott of Portsmouth, New Hampshire won first place in the Visual Arts contests with a collage comparing landscapes, average sea levels, wildlife, and other climate indicators in his area today and 100,000 years ago (below).

Students in grades K-5 made a drawing, collage or other 2-dimensional piece of artwork illustrating the theme "The Climate Where I Live."

 Finalists (in alphabetical order):


Essay Contest

Shreyas Havaldar of Dix Hills, New York won first place in the Earth Science Week essay contest with his writing about the climate and changing seasons on Long Island. To read his essay, click here.

Students grades 6-9 addressed this year's Earth Science Week theme "Climate Connections" Essays were no more than 300 words in length.

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

The views and assertions presented in essays are neither endorsed by nor reflect the positions the American Geosciences Institute.

International Year of Planet Earth and Earth Science Week 2009 Photography Contest

Amy Spaziani, a geoscience graduate student in Baton Rouge, Louisiana is the first-place winner of this year’s International Year of Planet Earth-Earth Science Week photography contest. Below, view Spaziani's photograph of a geology student examining soft sediment deformation during a field trip near the Guadalupe Mountains in west Texas. 

The contest was open to anyone of any age around the world. The theme was "Exploring Earth Science around the World." Submissions could include print or digital photographs.

The second-place winner was Cassidy Williams of Westland, Michigan.

The third-place winner was Daniel McGrath of Boulder, Colorado.

 Finalists (in alphabetical order):

Contest Winners from past years


202320222021 2020 2019 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003